Principal Recognition Breakfast Held to Acknowledge Students

By Fatima Farha

Principal Kaine Osburn  hosted the annual Principal Recognition Breakfast on Wednesday, Dec. 12 at 7:30 a.m in the Black Box Theater.

Each department nominates a student who is invited to the breakfast along with their parents and a representative from the department. According to the principal’s secretary Judy Wheatman, the department nominates the student based on outstanding achievement and every member in the department has to agree on the student unanimously.

“It’s an honor to be recognized by a department and the Principal,” Wheatman said.

Osburn believes that the students who are nominated deserve the nomination because of their hard work and eagerness to learn. Even though the sole destination of the students’ education is not to simply get recognized, it is still imperative that they are recognized for what they have achieved.

“While the greatness our children achieve is not so done for the purpose of being recognized, providing a very public and prominent forum for recognizing our children’s excellence is essential to developing a culture of achievement in our community,” Osburn said. “We are making sure that we make visible to a larger audience [and ultimately the whole school] our gratitude and appreciation of these students and what their achievements contribute to our school and the larger community.”

He delivers this speech during the breakfast every year to motivate the students as well as congratulate them.

Here is a list of the students being recognized by each department:

Athletics: Rachel Bender
Applies Science and Technology: Tezen Mathew, Tanya Polhovski, Conrad Celinski
ELL and World Languages: Farzin Rezvani, Joy Sherman
English: Beyza Ozer
Fine Arts – Art: Jeanette Habash
Fine Arts – Music: Maxwell Green
Fine Arts – Theatre: Aria Caldwell
Literacy Center: Vishna Patel
Mathematics: Daniel Beltran
Physical Welfare: Daniel Dominguez
Science: Megan Zachaki
Social Studies: Samantha JahJah
Special Education: Sterling Mendez
Student Activities: Lyba Zia
Student Services: Faris Karaman